rocking horse

Activities and Daily Routines

photoAt the Coach House the children use a free-flow system where the rooms are open to allow the children the opportunity to interact with all ages.

We provide a stimulating child-initiated environment where they are free to make their own choices from resources stored at their level: this helps to develop friendships, imagination, negotiation skills and independence. Working alongside this, the key persons provide a variety of adult-planned activities based on their observation, next steps and again from the interests of the individual child. Key persons then take small groups of children at similar levels of development to do these planned activities.

We follow the Letters & Sounds principles which is a national six-phase, high-quality teaching program. Early Years to Reception begins with phase one, which promotes listening and speaking.

The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage sets out standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five.  Practitioners use the Social and Emotional Aspects of Development Guidance when looking at the stages of development of their key children and planning their next steps of development.

There are seven areas of learning and development set out in the framework to shape the educational programme, Prime and Specific Areas.  This is as in The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage; all areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.  The Three Prime areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, from relationships and thrive).


                                                                The three prime areas are;

                                                             Communication & Language

                                                             Physical development

                                                             Personal, Social & Emotional Development

Practitioners support children in Nuthatches and Kingfishers to develop by focusing on the prime areas, which are the basis for successful learning in the other Four Specific areas, all seven will be then be the focus for the Robins and Woodpecker groups.

                                                           The Four Specific areas are;



                                                            Understanding the World

                                                            Expressive Arts & Design